The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

June 7, 2013

Franklin Stage Company's 17th season opens June 15

--
The Daily Star

---- — The Franklin Stage Company’s 17th season of professional admission-free theater in Chapel Hall will open with an Opera Oggi New York production.

The two one-act comic operas, “La Serva Padrona” and “The Telephone,” will be performed at 8 p.m. Saturday, June 15, and 5 p.m. Sunday, June 16.

The first mainstage production will be “Village Wooing” by George Bernard Shaw and “A Door Must Be Kept Open Or Shut” by Alfred de Musset. The two one-act comedies will be performed Friday, June 28, through Sunday, July 14. Performances will take place at 8 p.m. Wednesdays through Saturdays, and 5 p.m. Sundays, with a 2 p.m. performance Saturday, June 29. 

There will be a rehearsed reading of “Jane” by S.N. Behrman on the main stage at 8 p.m. Saturday, July 20, and 5 p.m. Sunday, July 21.

FSC will host the Mettawee River Theatre Company production of “Taliesin,” a medieval Welsh tale of sorcery and intrigue told with giant figures, puppets and live music, outside on the Franklin Central School playing field at 8 p.m. Friday, July 26.

The final main stage production will be “The Winter’s Tale” by William Shakespeare from Friday, Aug. 16, to Sunday, Sept. 1. Performances will take place at 8 p.m. Wednesdays through Saturdays, and 5 p.m. Sundays, with at 2 p.m. performance Saturday, Aug. 17.

The Gallery in Chapel Hall will offer two group art exhibits inspired by the themes of the two main stage productions. “Marriage” will be on display June 15 to July 14, with an opening on June 28. It will also be open during the Stagecoach Run Art Festival on July 6 and 7. “Fairy Tales” will be open from Aug. 2 to Sept. 1, with an opening on Aug. 16.

For more information or reservations, which are recommended, call 829-3700, email reserve@franklinstagecompany.org, or visit www.franklinstagecompany.org.