The Daily Star
---- — Step Back Text ColorSwatch/NoneStrokeStyle/$ID/SolidText ColorSwatch/NoneStrokeStyle/$ID/Solid$ID/NothingText ColorText Color$ID/NothingText ColorText Colorin Time features news items from The Daily Star 25 and 50 years ago.
25 years ago
Oct. 28,Text ColorSwatch/NoneStrokeStyle/$ID/SolidText ColorSwatch/NoneStrokeStyle/$ID/Solid$ID/NothingText ColorText Color$ID/NothingText ColorText Color 1988
Orin Lehman, Commissioner of the New York State Office of Park, Recreation, and Historic Preservation, announced this week that the State Theatre in Deposit, has been listed on the State and Historic Registers of Historic Places.
The State Theatre façade is made with classic blue and black art deco glass and the elaborate marquee was resplendent with flashers, travelers, and many lines of neon. This combination of façade and marquee is unique to upstate New York.
The design, commissioned by the Kallet-Commerford Theatre Chain in 1937 especially for the State Theatre, qualified the building for National Historic Register Status.
The Kallet-Commerford Chain of Oneida was one of the largest movie chains in central New York during the late 1930s. They purchased the Lewis Garage and the old Empire Theatre in Deposit in February of 1937 and opened the State Theatre on the site of the Lewis Garage in March of 1937.
The auditorium collapsed in February of 1986 due to a heavy snow load. “Raise the Roof” was founded to preserve the State Theatre and return a movie house to the Deposit community.
50 years ago
Oct. 28,Text ColorSwatch/NoneStrokeStyle/$ID/SolidText ColorSwatch/NoneStrokeStyle/$ID/Solid$ID/NothingText ColorText Color$ID/NothingText ColorText Color 1963
An Oneonta businessman has shown downtown owners of aging buildings that renovation of their business fronts and reconditioning of their buildings can pay off in the added attractiveness of their street.
Harold de Graw, who purchased the Taylor Block and the Taylor Corporation name, plus the liquor store formerly operated by Ernest Taylor, in December 1962, is demonstrating to the downtown group how much the modernization of just two business places can improve the appearance of an entire street.
When Mr. de Graw purchased the building and the business, the structures were fronted by business entrances dating back to World War One days. The approaches were shabby, and the brick work of the building coated with decades of grime and soot.
Because of the winter weather, Mr. de Graw went immediately to work on the upper floors of his purchase, and by spring had completely renovated three apartments on the second floor and a larger apartment on the third floor.
On the ground floor, beginning in April, he began to renovate the store property west of the liquor store, installing a colonial style doorway, and painting the whole area a gleaming white. In June it was occupied by Dr. Jarvis E. Hyzer, Oneonta dentist.
Then the crew of workmen employed by Mr. de Graw started work on the liquor store, installing a matching front and completely renovating the interior into a modern business place, a project completed about two weeks ago.
The work by Mr. de Graw, he explained, has sparked similar “renovation” projects by several business men or building owners, among them Elias Jacobs of Stamford, owner of the Palmer Block at the intersection of Chestnut and Main streets.