The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

April 5, 2013

Step Back in Time: April 5, 2013

The Daily Star

---- — Step Back in Time features news items from The Daily Star 25 and 50 years ago.

25 years ago

April 5, 1988

COOPERSTOWN — The Friends of Bassett Hospital in Cooperstown are appealing to people who were born at Bassett to contribute money for a new birthing center. Serving as honorary chairman is Gerald Ellsworth, who was born at Bassett in 1946.

While more than 15,000 babies have been born at Bassett since the hospital opened in 1927, only a few have been reached by mail because current addresses are not always available.

So far about $125,000 of the $200,000 goal has been raised, according to Michael Stein, hospital spokesman and executive director for the Friends.

50 years ago

April 5, 1963

Mrs. Lester E. Townsend was reinstalled as president of the Oneonta Women’s Club at the annual spring luncheon held Wednesday at the First Presbyterian Church.

Mrs. Theron Cummings had charge of the ceremony.

Also installed were: Mrs. Arthur Brundage, first vice president; Mrs. Robert Johnson, second vice president; Mrs. Harry Martin, treasurer; Mrs. W. Clyde Wright, recording secretary and Mrs. Burton L. Hulbert, corresponding secretary.

Installed as directors were Mrs. G. Traver Sanly and Mrs. Carl Spear with Mrs. Harold Hunt and Mrs. Everett Waugh.

Special guests at the meeting included Mrs. Houson H. Hartley of South Worcester, county chairman and Mrs. Richard M. Simonson of Cooperstown, corresponding secretary of the Sixth District, representing Mrs. Edward Welch, Sixth District director.

The program for the afternoon was presented by the Woman’s Club Choral Group under the direction of Dorothy Ann Gragg.

Members of the group are Esther Bresee, Beverly Close, Betsy Ditmer, Irene Engelman, Shirley Hardy, Gladys Hubbard, Mary Porter, Kathleen Sisson and Daisy Steigelman. Nancy Sampson accompanied the group at the piano.

The invocation was given by Mrs. John Woodward and the pledge to the flag by Mrs. E.H. Westlund. Mrs. Ernest Pickard gave the philanthropy report.