Step Back in Time features news items from The Daily Star 25 and 50 years ago.
50 years ago
Nov. 6, 1963
The motto of Kiwanis is “We Build,” and Oneonta Kiwanians have been in the building business since 1923 when the local club was chartered.
Kiwanians are observing the 40th anniversary of the club today.
The local club was sponsored jointly by the Binghamton, Delhi and Walton clubs, already functioning in 1923. Kiwanis International came into being in 1915 at Detroit, so it was only eight years old at the time the local club was chartered.
The late Owen C. Becker was the first president, followed by Donald H. Grant in 1925. Frank C. Huntington, president in 1928, was the only district governor to be elected from the local organization.
Dr. A.H. “Dad” Brownell was the first club secretary serving for 19 years, and R. Milton Hick acted in the same capacity from 1944 to 1957.
Maynard White is the present secretary, and Lloyd Baker the president.
Several charter members still belong to the local club. They are: Clyde F. Bresee, Lynn H. Bresee, Russell Brigham, Sheldon H. Close, Clifford J. Eldred and Albert Fitzelle. Albert P. Mills, also a charter member, holds honorary membership in the club and lives in Tucson, Ariz.
Some of the club’s projects have continued over the years. Of long standing was the services rendered to children at the Upstate Baptist Home.
For over 20 years, the club furnished free medical eye service and eyeglasses to children at the home. Dr. Brownell was largely responsible for this project.