The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

August 25, 2011

Women's Club plans year full of activities

Daily Star

---- — The Women's Club of Cooperstown will begin its 2011-12 year with its annual salad luncheon at 1 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 13, at the Christ Church Parish House on Fair Street in Cooperstown.

Those who attend are asked to bring a dish to pass and their own table service. Dessert, rolls and beverages will be provided.

Club members may bring prospective members as their guests. Following the luncheon, Francesca Zambello, general and artistic director of the Glimmerglass Festival, will present the program, "Preview of the 2012 Glimmerglass Festival."

This year, the Women's Club of Cooperstown will be under the leadership of President Martha Grossi, Vice President Mary Margaret Kuhn, Recording Secretary Regina Palmer, Corresponding Secretary Jan Jock and Treasurer Mary Griffin. Directors for the club this year will be Dianne Eldridge, Susan Miosek, Pat Duncan and Annegrete Barnum.

Additional programs for the year will include in October, "Ghosts of Cooperstown," presented by Bruce Markusen; in November, "History of Costumes in New York State," presented by Professor Demi Eluwawalage; in December, "Holiday Carol Sing" with Kathryn Boardman; in January, "A History of the Mary Imogene Bassett Hospital," presented by Dr. John Davis; in February, "History of the Valentine," presented by Wayne Wright; in March, "Writing a novel after penning weekly columns," presented by Jim Atwell; in April, "It's Bridge! It's Scrabble! It's the Cooperstown Women's Club Game Day!; and in May, the annual Spring Luncheon and Fashion Show at the Otesaga Hotel.

There will continue to be a philanthropic project to support the work of the Cooperstown Food Bank. Each month, members are encouraged to bring to the meeting either a nonperishable food item or a monetary donation for the food bank.

The Helen N. Hale Scholarship, given each year by the Women's Club in memory of long-time Cooperstown Central School mathematics teacher and former president of Women's Club Helen Hale, is awarded to graduating seniors at Cooperstown Central School who plan to continue their education. The 2011 winners were Connor Boyle and Natalie Grigoli.

The Mabel Atwell Drama Award was established by the Women's Club in memory of longtime Cooperstown Central School English teacher and former president of Women's Club, Mabel W. Atwell. Besides teaching English, Atwell was a long-time director of the school's dramatic productions. The award is given each year in her memory to a graduating senior or seniors for outstanding effort in the area of dramatic performance. The 2011 winner was Robert Katz.

In addition to its philanthropic work, the Women's Club of Cooperstown also sponsors the Garden Discussion Group, the Literary Discussion Group and the Meadowlarks, a group which makes holiday tray favors for residents of Otsego Manor.

Membership in the Women's Club of Cooperstown is open to all. More information on membership is available by calling Pat Duncan, membership chair, at 264-3258.