The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

September 9, 2013

Women's Club to start year Tuesday

The Daily Star

---- — The Women’s Club of Cooperstown will begin its 2013-14 year with its annual salad luncheon at 1 p.m. Tuesday at the Christ Church Parish House on Fair Street in Cooperstown. Those who attend must bring a dish to pass and their own table service. Dessert, rolls and beverages will be provided. Club members are encouraged to bring prospective members as their guests. Following the salad luncheon, Jane Forbes Clark will speak about the Clark Foundation and the Leatherstocking Corp. in Otsego County.

This year, the Women’s Club of Cooperstown will be under the leadership of President Mary Margaret Kuhn; Vice President Annegrete Barnum; Recording Secretary Sue Drake; Corresponding Secretary Jean Lyon; and Treasurer Susan Newman. Directors for the club this year will be Jan Jock, Dianne Kull, Regina Palmer and Lois Holz.

Additional programs for the year will include: in October, “Celebrate Octoberfest”; in November, “The Garden in November: Endings & Beginnings” presented by Patricia Thorpe; in December, “What is New at the Cooperstown Art Association” presented by Janet Erway; in January, “What’s Changing at the Cooperstown Food Pantry” presented by Audrey Murray; in February, “Empty Bowls – How it Came to Be” presented by Donna Bailey Mackie; in March, “Music, Movement & the Mind” presented by Dr. Don Raddatz; in April, “It’s Bridge! It’s Mahjong! It’s the Cooperstown Women’s Club Game Day!”; and in May, the annual Spring Luncheon and Fashion Show at the Otesaga Hotel.

During the 2013-14 club year, there will continue to be an ongoing philanthropic project to support the work of the Cooperstown Food Bank. Each month members are encouraged to bring to the meeting either a nonperishable food item or a monetary donation for the food bank.

The Helen N. Hale Scholarship, given each year by the Women’s Club in memory of longtime Cooperstown Central School mathematics teacher and former president of Women’s Club Helen Hale, is awarded to graduating seniors at Cooperstown Central School who plan to continue their education. The 2013 winners were Kari Gagnon and Christopher Harloff.

The Mabel Atwell Drama Award was established by the Women’s Club in memory of long time Cooperstown Central School English teacher and former president of Women’s Club, Mabel W. Atwell. Besides teaching English, Atwell was a longtime director of Cooperstown school dramatic productions. Hence the award is given in her memory to a graduating senior or seniors for outstanding effort in the area of dramatic performance. No award was given in 2013.

In addition to its philanthropic work, the Women’s Club of Cooperstown also sponsors the Garden Discussion Group, the Literary Discussion Group and the Meadowlarks, a group that makes holiday tray favors for residents of Otsego Manor.

Membership in the Women’s Club of Cooperstown is open to all. More information on membership is available by calling Lois Holz, membership chair, at 547-9138.