The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

March 20, 2013

Official: Candidates tied in mayoral race

Staff Report
The Daily Star

---- — Candidates for mayor in Gilbertsville tied during elections Tuesday, said an official who will be checking about a run-off balloting.

Incumbent Diane Gallo and challenger Kenneth Nolan were tied with 61 votes each, village Clerk/Treasurer Kristi McNeil said. The race was the first contested race in recent memory, she said.

“We had a bigger turnout than we’ve ever had,’’ McNeil said. “It was an exciting day.’’

In the Gilbertsville trustee race, Kristina Strain with 68 votes bested Barbara Prostak who garnered 50 votes, McNeil said.

In Laurens, Robert Zack was elected mayor with 8 votes, and Geralyn Holstead was elected trustee, a village official said.

In the village of Otego, incumbent Ernest Kroll was elected mayor with 21 votes to one write-in vote, an official said.

In Cooperstown, 100 voters cast ballots for three unopposed candidates, officials said. The results were Bruce Maxon received 90 votes, Joan Nicols received 86 votes and Louis Allstadt received 84 votes, officials said. Nicols and Maxon were elected to serve full three-year terms to replace Lynne Mebust and Walter Franck, and Allstadt will serve the final year of an unexpired term being vacated by Frank Cappoza.