The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

Breaking News

Local News

November 23, 2012

Committee decks out C'town for holidays

(Continued)

Funding for the decorations comes through grants and donations.

“Every year the Scriven Foundation has been very generous,” Cannon said. “We send out fundraising mailers in early November. We are very fortunate that we have the donors that we have every year.”

Santa will arrive in Cooperstown tonight.

“There’s a parade. We have the middle school marching band. ... Greg Hall has this beautiful team of wonderful horses that pulls the sleigh that Santa is sitting in, and this year about 30 kids, who are the children of Cooperstown Central School’s faculty and staff, will be riding with Santa. It’s just magical,” Canon said.

The high school choir will sing Christmas carols, elves from the middle school will be out and about in the crowd, Frosty and Rudolph will be on hand, and free hot cider, donated by the Fly Creek Cider Mill, will be available.

Mrs. Claus said that last year close to 6,000 children visited Santa in Cooperstown between Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve.

Santa’s schedule is as follows: 

• Saturday, Nov. 24 from 1 to 5 p.m.

• Sunday, Nov. 25 noon to 2 p.m. (Santa Photos with Pets)

• Sunday, Nov. 25 from 2 to 4 p.m.

• Friday, Nov. 30 from 3 to 6 p.m.

• Saturday, Dec 1, from 1 to 5 p.m.

• Sunday, Dec. 2 from 1 to 4 p.m.

• Monday, Dec. 3, story time with Mrs. Claus from 10 to 11 a.m.

• Friday, Dec. 7 from 3 to 6 p.m.

• Saturday, Dec. 8 Mrs. Claus will be at the cottage from 1 to 5 p.m. Santa will be at the Candlelight Evening

• Sunday, Dec. 9 from 1 to 4 p.m. TBA (snow date for Candlelight Evening)

• Monday, Dec.10 story time with Mrs. Claus from 10 to 11 a.m.

• Friday, Dec. 14 from 3 to 6 p.m.

• Saturday, Dec. 15 from 1 to 5 p.m.

• Sunday, Dec. 16 from 1 to 4 p.m.

• Monday, Dec. 17 from 3 to 6 p.m.

• Tuesday, Dec. 18 from 3 to 6 p.m.

• Wednesday, Dec. 19 from 3 to 6 p.m.

• Thursday, Dec. 20 from 3 to 6 p.m.

• Friday, Dec. 21 from 3 to 6 p.m.

• Saturday, Dec. 22 from 1 to 5 p.m.

• Monday, Dec. 24 from 1 to 4 p.m.

Text Only
Local News

Additional Content
Join the Debate
Helium
Additional Resources
CNHI News Service
Poll

Is Israel justified to conduct its military campaign against the Hamas in Gaza?

Yes
No
Undecided/no opinion
     View Results