The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

July 9, 2014

Delaware, Otsego included in federal disaster list for May storms

The Daily Star

---- — Delaware and Otsego are among counties included in federal major disaster declaration areas tied to storms and flooding in May, the governor said Tuesday.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced that his June 16 request to President Barack Obama for such designations had been approved and the other counties included were Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Herkimer, Lewis, Livingston, Ontario, Steuben and Yates.

Storms and flooding, which began May 12, affected a large portion of the state, particularly the 11 designated counties where heavy rains fell in some areas at rates of 5 to 7 inches in less than three hours, the governor’s release said.

The severe weather resulted in serious damage and destruction in communities, the release said, and the governor declared a state disaster emergency within impacted areas on May 14.

The president’s declaration will provide needed federal financial assistance to localities for vital repairs, Cuomo said.

The federal funding will be available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, a release from the White House said.