The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

February 9, 2013

Nemo nails Northeast

Area officials: We're ready for storm

Mark Boshnack
The Daily Star

---- —  

A number of area schools either canceled classes or had an early dismissal in anticipation of the snowstorm that was expected to bring 6-10 inches of snow to the area Friday and Saturday. Many after-school and evening activities also were canceled.

A meteorologist with the National Weather Service in Binghamton said the storm was progressing as predicted at 6:30 p.m., but there was only about an inch of snow in Oneonta at 8 p.m.

The forecast called for heaviest snow to start Friday afternoon and continue through the night before ending Saturday at 7 a.m.

No major and only a few minor motor vehicle accidents were reported by emergency service dispatchers.

Delaware County Emergency Services Director Rich Bell said Friday afternoon it appeared the area would get “a typical higher-end winter storm.” He said he was ready to address any issues as they arise.

“It’s nothing we haven’t handled previously,” he said.

Procedures and personnel are in place, and fire departments have their equipment ready if they need to respond, he said, adding that highway crews also were fully prepared.

Bell said he had been following reports from the National Weather Service and making sure all county departments were aware of the situation.

The Otsego County Office of Emergency Services did not return a call for comment.

Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo declared a state of emergency for a number of downstate counties Friday as “a major winter storm has already started to bring heavy snow and high winds to parts of New York state,” according to a media release from his office.

The declaration mobilizes resources for local governments that otherwise are restricted to state use and allows the governor to suspend laws and regulations that would impede rapid response.

The declaration covered all of New York City, and Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester counties.