The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

September 11, 2013

Local primary results

Staff Report
The Daily Star

---- — Voters went to the polls Tuesday to decide primary elections in three area counties for certain town offices. Only Otsego County had reported results by 11:10 p.m. The winners are marked with an asterisk.


Voters in eight Otsego County towns voted in Republican-only primary. The unofficial winners and the other candidates are:

Edmeston Council (2)

Edward Shutz, Scott Convis*, Richard Wayman*

Edmeston Highway Superintendent

Richard Gott, Danny Hawes*, Paul Tasior

Laurens Highway Superintendent

Ronald Fink, Wayne Shulgay*

Maryland Highway Superintendent

Timothy Walke*, Ken Otten

Morris Supervisor

Lynn Joy*, Deborah Newell

Otsego Highway Superintendent

John Schallert Jr.*, Shawn Mulligan

Pittsfield Council (2)

Carole Barry, Jeffrey Utter*, William Johnson*

Richfield Supervisor

Francis Enjem*, Nicholas Palevsky

Richfield Clerk/Collector

Monica Harris, Susan Cantwell*

Richfield Council (2)

Laurie Bond*, E. Lawrence Budro, Paul Palumbo*, William Seamon

Unadilla Highway Superintendent

Rodney Renwick*, Tracy Winchester

The other races, for which results weren’t available, were:


Voters in four Chenango County towns, and the city of Norwich, held votes in Republican-only primary. The contestants were:

Coventry Supervisor

George Westcott, Gwendolyn Hinman.

Coventry Council (2)

Robert Boudreau, George Broeg, Sara Cook, John Wicks Jr.

Guilford Supervisor

George Seneck, Jeffrey McCormick.

Norwich (city) Alderman

Ward 4: Walter Schemerhorn, Linda Kays-Biviano.

Ward 6: Daniel Palmer, Thomas LoPiccolo

Oxford Council (2)

John Hoffman, Paul Brennan, Ronald Charles

Smithville Supervisor

Frederick Heisler Jr., Roger Connelly

Smithville Highway Superintendent

Bruce Kinney, Harold Schultes


Five of the 19 towns in Delaware County had contests. Democrats held primaries in Andes and Middletown; Republicans, in Colchester, Delhi and Kortright. The contestants were:

Andes Town Council (2)

Samuel Fundaro, Thomas Joyce, R. Dale Cole

Colchester Supervisor

Arthur Merrill, Cindy Donofrio

Colchester Town Council (2)

Julie Markert, Mark Mattson, Alan Donner

Delhi Supervisor

Peter Bracci, Mark Tuthill

Delhi Town Council (2)

Kevin Lee, James Bracci, Thomas Little

Kortright Town Council (2)

John Every, Jeffrey Haynes, Margaret Kenyon

Middletown Supervisor

Marjorie Miller, Nelson Delameter