The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

June 16, 2012

Broncos coach wins top award from NJCAA

Staff Report

---- —

SUNY Delhi's Bob Leary won the Scott D. Livie Memorial Award as the top NJCAA men's lacrosse coach in the country during the 2012 season.

Also the NJCAA's Region III Coach of the Year, Leary led the Broncos (11-5) to a program record for single-season victories and the No. 8 ranking in the final NJCAA Division III poll.

Oneonta State graduate Leary (Class of 1987) will receive his national award during the Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association Convention, which will run Dec. 7-9 at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront Hotel.

The NJCAA also honored Onondaga Community College attack Randy Staats and goalie Gill Conners as its Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively.

D-II Lacrosse

Two former area-college lacrosse players led Dowling College to its first Division II men's lacrosse championship in May.

Senior attack Vito DeMola finished with four goals and two assists in Dowling's 11-10 championship victory over Limestone. DeMola earned Empire 8 Conference Rookie of the Year honors for Hartwick College in 2008 before transferring to Dowling and redshirting during the 2009 season.

DeMola played for head coach Tim Boyle, a 1990 Oneonta State graduate who started four seasons and captained the Red Dragons. Boyle led the Golden Lions to a 13-2 finish this past spring.

D-III Lacrosse

Oneonta State junior midfielder Jimmy van de Veerdonk received Division III All-American honors from the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association last month.

A high school All-American at Putnam Valley, van de Veerdonk had 36 goals, 10 assists and a team-best 116 groundballs en route to co-SUNY Athletic Conference Player of the Year accolades.

Van de Veerdonk, who also won a team-best 205 faceoffs, is the sixth O-State men's lacrosse player to earn All-American status and the first since 2004.

The Red Dragons went 5-10 this past season and qualified for the SUNYAC Tournament.