The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

February 4, 2013

Bears, Spartans highlight Class C wrestling meet

The Daily Star

---- — Staff Report

Bainbridge-Guilford/Afton and Unatego crowned three champions apiece during the Section Four Class C wrestling championships Saturday at Lansing.

It was a deep Sidney squad, however, that earned the best team finish as the Warriors placed second with 175.5 points. Austin Dean’s 27-second pin of Tioga’s Zach Kelsey marked the only title for the Warriors, who finished behind Greene (212 points) in the 11-team tournament.

Chris Cirigliano (106 pounds), Jesse Griswold (132) and Mark Viviano (195) earned championships for B-G/A, which amassed 165 points for fifth place. All three Bears won by pinfall in their respective title matches.

Codie Nichols (145), Kevin Thayer (152) and Ryan Marszal (182) won their finals by decision for Unatego, which placed seventh with 151 points.

Area runner-ups were Sidney’s Nicholas Jump (170), Kai Sabada (195) and Alex Morrow (220); Unatego’s Austin Ryan (126) and Leland Slawson (160); and B-G/A’s Jamie Griswold (152).

The Bears’ Josh Lindsey (99) and Justin Cirigliano (138) placed third, as did Sidney’s Derek Northrop (132) and Unatego’s Riley Hanrahan (182).

The top five wrestlers in each weight class qualified for the Section Four Division II Championships, which are set for this Friday and Saturday at the Broome County Arena in Binghamton.

Section Four Class B

Kirkland Dolan and Cory Corkwell earned runner-up finishes for Oneonta High during the Section Four Class B Championships at Waverly.

Doland pushed his 160-pound final to the third period before Brandon Ellers of Waverly pinned him in 5:03. Corkwell also lost his title match by pinfall as Windsor’s Matt Abbott won the 285-pound crown in 3:53.

“We are having a strong finish to another winning season,” said OHS coach John Nealis, whose team finished fourth with 125.5 points. Maine-Endwell won the team title with 162.5 points.

Oneonta also received a third from James Longo, who won the 145-pound consolation final by default over Dryden’s Jeremy Andrews.

Billy Thomas (138) and Thomas Fischer (182) placed fourth for the Yellowjackets, who got fifths from Mitchell Spaziani (106), Dan Decker (132) and Sam Sherrill (152).

All of the aforementioned OHS wrestlers qualified for this weekend’s Section Four Division II Championships at the Arena. Doland and Corkwell will enter the state qualifiers as the sixth seeds in their weight classes, and Longo is seeded eight.

OHS also received wild-card entries for sixth-place finishers Jimmy Verrelli (99), Krishan Choppra (170), Jason Yung (195) and Kris Walwrath (220).

Section Four Class D

Four area wrestlers earned championships during the Section Four Class D Championships at Unadilla Valley.

Noah DeDominicis’ 3:46-pin of Moravia’s Sean Mischler in the 170-pound final clinched the only title for Delhi, which placed second in the 12-team tournament with 126 points.

Tyler Olson helped Unadilla Valley to 122 points for fourth place by winning a 10-2 major decision over Walton’s Dawson Beers in the 128-pound title match.

Mike Beers won at 182 pounds with a 5-0 decision over Delhi’s Kyle Clark, contributing to Walton’s seventh-place finish with 90 points.

Grey Bennis of last-place Edmeston (24 points) took the 195-pound title by injury default against UV’s Alex Avolio.

Oxford won the team championship with 199.5 points.

Area runner-ups were Dylan Wood (113); UV’s Austin Lewis (126) and Collin Izard (132); and Delhi’s Mike Neuman (160).

Walton had consolation winners in Logan Robinson (113) and Dakota Coffey (126), as did Delhi with Trey Mostert (138) and Russell Cobane (152), and UV’s Kurtis Wilson (220) and Richie Conklin (285).

Section Three Class D

Mikey Boyle and Kevin Segit won championships for Cooperstown during the Section Three Class D Tournament at Sandy Creek.

Boyle pinned Poland’s Albert Amacher in 4:31 for the 120-pound title en route to Most Outstanding Wrestler accolades. Boyle’s run to his second sectional class title in three seasons included a 4-2 overtime defeat of Ben Nostovski, who beat him in the 2012 final.

Segit earned his first class championship with a 4-1 decision over Sandy Creek’s AJ Wills at 195.

Jacob Miller dropped a 10-2 major decision to Watertown IHC’s Nicholas Koelmel in the 145-pound final, but his runner-up finish helped the Redskins to 132 points for a fourth-place finish in the 14-team tournament. Dolgeville won the team title with 218.5 points.

Cooperstown also received thirds from Jacob Russell (99), Paul LoRusso (106) and JP Gertz (285), as well as a fourth from Trentin Carentz (113).

Redskins coach Micaiah Abts said the top four finishers in each weight class earned automatic berths to the Section Three Division II Championships, which are set for Saturday at Onondaga Community College.