The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

Local Sports

July 8, 2014

Inductions to feature 56 Hall of Famers

Staff Report

The National Baseball Hall of Fame’s Class of 2014 knows how to draw a crowd.

The Cooperstown shrine announced Monday that 56 Hall of Famers will be on stage at the Clark Sports Center for the July 27 Induction Ceremony, which will honor former players Tom Glavine, Greg Maddux and Frank Thomas, along with former managers Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa and Joe Torre.

The six will join 50 previously inducted Hall of Famers, tying the all-time record of 56 in attendance for an Induction Ceremony, the Hall stated in a media release.

In alphabetical order, the Hall of Famers scheduled to appear are as follows:

Hank Aaron, Roberto Alomar;

Johnny Bench, Yogi Berra, Bert Blyleven, Wade Boggs, George Brett, Lou Brock, Jim Bunning;

Rod Carew, Steve Carlton, Orlando Cepeda;

Andre Dawson;

Dennis Eckersley;

Rollie Fingers, Carlton Fisk, Whitey Ford;

Bob Gibson, Pat Gillick, Goose Gossage;

Doug Harvey, Rickey Henderson, Whitey Herzog;

Reggie Jackson, Fergie Jenkins;

Al Kaline, Sandy Koufax;

Barry Larkin, Tom Lasorda;

Juan Marichal, Willie Mays, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Eddie Murray;

Phil Niekro;

Tony Perez, Gaylord Perry;

Jim Rice, Cal Ripken, Brooks Robinson, Frank Robinson, Nolan Ryan;

Mike Schmidt, Tom Seaver, Ozzie Smith, Bruce Sutter, Don Sutton;

Billy Williams, Dave Winfield;

and Robin Yount.

Admission is free for the ceremony, which will start at 1:30 p.m. July 27. It will air live on MLB Network, be broadcast on Sirius XM Radio and will be available via a webcast at Monday’s media release from the Hall said it expected the ceremony to “last three hours.”

The returning stars also are expected to take part in other Hall of Fame Weekend activities, including the Hall of Fame Awards Presentation at 4:30 p.m. July 26 at Doubleday Field. Author Roger Angell will receive the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing; Joe Garagiola will be honored with the Buck O’Neil Lifetime Achievement Award; and Texas Rangers voice Eric Nadel will receive the Ford C. Frick Award for major contributions to baseball broadcasting.

Text Only
Local Sports

Additional Content
Join the Debate
Additional Resources
CNHI News Service

Is Israel justified to conduct its military campaign against the Hamas in Gaza?

Undecided/no opinion
     View Results