The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

Local Sports

April 16, 2013

OHS edges SV in tennis; Morris golfers win

Staff Report

Emerson Kelby and McKenna Rowe won in straight sets at first and second singles, respectively, to lead Oneonta High to a 4-3 Southern Tier Athletic Conference tennis victory at Susquehanna Valley on Monday.

The match featured four matches that went to three sets, including Chris Lentner and John Scott’s 6-1, 3-6, 10-5 victory over SV’s Adam Terboss and Alexander Bange at third doubles.

OHS improved to 4-0.

Oneonta 4, SV 3

at Susquehanna Valley

Singles: Emerson Kelby (O) def. Andrew Emmons, 6-1, 6-0; McKenna Rowe (O) def. Tyler Smith, 6-1, 6-2; Shaynne Rodriguez (S) def. Aaron Earle-Richardson, 7-6, 6-7, 10-5; Stijn van Pel (O) def. Noah Starke, 6-1, 6-2.

Doubles: Nicholas Terry and Elijah Nichols (S) def. Boru Jerry Li and Griffin Rule(Oneonta) 6-1, 3-6, 11-10; Lincoln Boyle and Joshua Kinney (S) def. Emily Harter and Nicole van der Sommen, 6-3, 3-6, 10-4; Chris Lentner and John Scott (O) def. Adam Terboss and Alexander Bange, 6-1, 3-6, 10-5.

Windham 5, H-T 2

Eddie Moran’s 9-7 win over Taylor Dart at third singles helped visiting Windham to a Delaware League victory.

Windham 5, H-T 2

at Hunter-Tannersville

Singles: Neal Statts (H) def. Jeremy Torres, 9-5; Malcom Seamans (W) def. Dylan Endy, 9-4;

Jordan Radcliffe (H) def. Joe Pelham, 9-7; Eddie Moran (W) def. Taylor Dart, 9-7; Katie Exum (W) def. Sophia Tsiselsky, 9-4.

Doubles: Luke Rasmussen and David Sanders (W) def. Troy Bates and Frankie Raffiani, 9-1; Dylan McRoberts and Tori Exum (W) won by default over Rae Goss and Hannah Podsiadlik.

Roxbury 6, Davenport 1

Joe McAfee rallied from five games down to defeat Kyle Moorby, 9-7, at third singles and help host Roxbury to a Delaware League victory.

Roxbury 6, Davenport 1

at Roxbury

Singles: Josh Riley (R) def. Lindsey Zeisler, 9-0; Garret Hinkley (R) def. Bryce Kohout, 9-3; Joe McAfee (R) def. Kyle Moorby, 9-7; Tristan Mulder (R) def. CJ Wyble, 9-0; Bailey Gano (D) won by default.

Doubles: Danny Ballard and Katie Fairbairn (R) def. Keith Fiorello and Devon McMahon, 9-2; Emily Arvanete and Jennifer Blunt (R) def. Effia McClintock and Alyssa Hendrickson, 9-7.

Text Only
Local Sports

Additional Content
Join the Debate
Additional Resources
CNHI News Service

Do you plan to attend the Baseball Hall of Fame Induction?

Not sure
     View Results