The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

Breaking News

Local Sports

June 7, 2014

Local Sports



Varsity ‘O’ Awards

Male Athlete of the Year: Paul Bishchoff.

Female Athlete of the Year: Mariah Ruff.

Anthony C. Drago Award: Missy Emilio.

EC Dutch Damaschke Award: Brittney Herrick.

Service and Athletics Award: Jennifer Stanton

Boys and Girls Club Awards: Kragh Delello and Maria DiMartin.

Herb Burchell Award: Meg Burns.

Cathy Lynch Patron to Athletics Award: Don Secord.

Note: Top scholar-athletes and sportsmanship award winners from each team were recognized. Fourteen of Oneonta’s 18 varsity teams were NYS scholar-athletic teams.


Varsity Club Awards

Outstanding Male Athlete: Austin Kilmer.

Outstanding Female Athlete: Kim Kehr.

Athletics and Citizenship: Dan Cucciarre and Megan McNamara.

Joan McGranaghan Award: Hayley O’Connor.

Field Hockey Award: Megan McNamara.

Softball Award: Alyna Haywood.

Scholar-Athlete Awards: Will Farrell and Heather Ogden.

Lyle Rutherford Football Awards: Austin Kilmer and Tyler Griffin.

Cathy Cetta Memorial Bowling Awards (most pins improved over season): Collin Pomeroy and Addie Thompson.

Lenny Eckert Memorial Bowling Awards (sportsmanship): Joe Pomeroy and Fawn Pallidino.

Margaret Nichols Memorial Wrestling Awards: Quinn Harby and John MacRabie.

John A. Tomao Memorial Wrestling Award: Dawson Beers.

Chuck Hall Memorial Wrestling Camp Award: Caleb Robinson.

Jeremy Fletcher Memorial Wrestling Award: Quinn Harby.

Cuneen Wrestling Award: Dylan Wood.

David C. Schmidt Memorial Track Award: Dan Cucciarre.

Walton Booster Club Soccer Camp Scholarships: Noah Rhinehart and Katie Maguire.

Team MVPs: Nate Pieper, boys soccer; Austin Kilmer, football; Colin Adam, boys basketball; JT Smith, boys bowling; Aedan Flaherty, boys outdoor track; Jolene Kemp, girls outdoor track; Eric Zimmerman, golf; Julia Steitz, girls bowling; Steven Klein, baseball.

Outstanding Determination: Taylor VerNooy, field hockey; Madeline Vitti, girls soccer; Logan Robinson, wrestling; Tiara Nichols, volleyball; Lacey Speidell, softball; Aedan Flaherty, boys indoor track; Rhyan Howe, girls indoor track; Destyni Twyman, girls basketball.

Senior Awards: Steven Klein (male) and Kim Kehr (female).

Text Only
Local Sports

Additional Content
Join the Debate
Additional Resources
CNHI News Service

Is Israel justified to conduct its military campaign against the Hamas in Gaza?

Undecided/no opinion
     View Results