The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

September 6, 2013

Hall changes process for Frick Award

The Daily Star

---- — Staff Report

The National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown announced Wednesday changes to the selection process for the annual Ford C. Frick Award.

The Frick Award, for excellence in baseball broadcasting, is presented during Hall of Fame Weekend in Cooperstown.

Rather than pool nominees together, the Hall’s Board of Directors opted to break broadcasters into three groups, with each to be voted on in three-year cycles.

This year, the Frick Committee will consider candidates from the “High Tide Era,” which runs from the mid-1980s through today.

The following year, broadcasters whose most significant work came between the mid-1950s and the early-1980s will be considered. It’s called the “Living Room Era.”

Broadcasters who worked from the game’s origins through the early-1950s will be on the “Broadcasting Dawn Era” ballot in 2016.

The totality of a candidate’s career will be considered, but the era the broadcaster had the most impact will be determined by a Hall of Fame research team.

The “High Tide Era” process starts Monday, when the Hall releases the list of candidates for the 2014 Frick Award. Fans will select three of the 10 finalists by voting on the Hall’s facebook page ( A Hall research committee will select the remainder of the ballot, which will be announced in early October.

A 20-member Frick Award Committee will vote in November.

Past Frick recipients Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Tim McCarver, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker, Dave Van Horne and Bob Wolff, along with historians/columnists Bob Costas, Barry Horn, Ted Patterson and Curt Smith make up the selection committee.

The 2014 Frick winner will be announced during baseball’s winter meetings, which run Dec. 10-11 at Orlando.