The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

Local Sports

December 10, 2013

Managers Cox, La Russa, Torre voted into Hall


The 16-member Expansion Era Committee commissioned with the review of the 12-name ballot of managers, executives and long-retired players featured Hall of Famers Rod Carew, Andre Dawson, Carlton Fisk, Whitey Herzog, Tommy Lasorda, Paul Molitor, Phil Niekro and Frank Robinson; major league executives Paul Beeston, Andy MacPhail, David Montgomery and Jerry Reinsdorf; and veteran historians Steve Hirdt, Bruce Jenkins, Jack O’Connell and Jim Reeves.

Hall Chairman Jane Forbes Clark served as the non-voting chairman of the Expansion Era Committee.

Cox, La Russa and Torre will be joined in the Hall’s Class of 2014 by anyone elected via the 2014 BBWAA voting, which will be announced Jan. 8.

The winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing will be announced today, followed by the winner of the Ford C. Frick Award for excellence in baseball broadcasting Wednesday.

Text Only
Local Sports

Additional Content
Join the Debate
Additional Resources
CNHI News Service

Do you plan to attend the Baseball Hall of Fame Induction?

Not sure
     View Results