The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

Local Sports

February 11, 2013

Big moves highlight four title runs

Redskins' Boyle wins in Section Three


All three finals appearances, along with Marszal’s title, led Unatego to 105.5 team points for second place. Greene won the team crown with 127 points, and B-G/A finished third at 103.

The Bears also received a second from Jesse Griswold, who was pinned in 51 seconds by Norwich standout Tristan Rifanburg in the 132-pound title match.

Austin Dean of Sidney rounded out the area runner-ups. He also lost by pin, to Windsor’s Matt Abbott 3:48 into the 285-pound championship.

Sidney finished seventh with 78.5 points, Walton was 16th (47), Unadilla Valley placed 22nd (25), Delhi was 24th (19), Oneonta placed 25th (18) and Edmeston tied for last with zero points.


Boyle wins 120 title

Cooperstown senior Mikey Boyle earned his first state-tournament berth with a 4-2 victory over Cazenovia’s Dylan Evans in the 120-pound championship match during the Section Three Division II Tournament at Onondaga Community College.

“He’s got a chance to surprise some people at states,” said Cooperstown coach Micaiah Abts, whose program has its first state-tournament qualifier since Brendan Hill made his second straight appearance in 2005. “He’s a little unorthodox in his style, so that’s always nice with people you haven’t seen. They can’t really scout you out, so I think that’s in our favor.”

Second-seeded Boyle jumped to a 3-0 lead before Evans scored on a reversal just as the two fell out of bounds in the third period. Boyle then took the down position and scored the final point on an escape.

Boyle advanced to the title match with a 4-3 semifinal decision over Dolgeville’s Ben Nastovski. Fourth-seeded Evans upset the No. 1 seed in the other semifinal, Abts said.

Senior Jacob Miller and sophomore JP Gertz contributed sixth-place finishes for the Redskins, who were 15th in the 33-team tournament with 39 points.

South Jefferson won the team title with 146.5 points, followed by Phoenix (112.5) and Holland Patent (97.5).

Dean Russin can be reached at or 607-432-1000, ext. 215.

Text Only
Local Sports

Additional Content
Join the Debate
Additional Resources
CNHI News Service

Do you plan to attend the Baseball Hall of Fame Induction?

Not sure
     View Results