The Daily Star, Oneonta, NY - otsego county news, delaware county news, oneonta news, oneonta sports

Step Back In Time

January 8, 2014

Step Back in Time: Jan. 8, 2014

Step Back Text ColorSwatch/NoneStrokeStyle/$ID/SolidText ColorSwatch/NoneStrokeStyle/$ID/Solid$ID/NothingText ColorText Color$ID/NothingText ColorText Colorin Time features news items from The Daily Star 25 and 50 years ago.

50 years ago

Jan. 8, 1964

At least 40 groups will participate throughout Otsego County in “Operation Advance,” reported W. Dale Brown, Otsego County Agricultural Agent. 

All but three of the members of the county Steering committee have already sent to the County Extension office the list of local discussion leaders, according to Mr. Brown, “and we expect to hear from these in the near future, so that February will see at least the 40 gruops reported to us, participating in Operation Advance,” he said. 

Operation Advance will focus on four basic issues: Community Growth and Development; Education and the Future; Resources — Land, Water and People; and Amidst World Tensions. Discussions will be held in February in small groups of about 10 to 12 persons in the county. Each group will receive factual materials and discussion guides prepared by Cornell University and the New York State Cooperative Extension Service, sponsors of the program. Each individual participating will be asked to fill out and file an opinion record at the close of the discussions. 

Leaders already signed up include: Ernest B. Knapp, Dr. Theodore Peters Jr., Robert W. Willis, and Mrs. Edward G. Welch, all in the Cooperstown area; Robert Baldwin, Henry Cooley, Mrs. Hazel Holmes and Mrs. Marian Mooney, in the Worcester area; Mrs. Clara Rathbun, donald Charles, Gerard Levine, Dr. Howard Joseph and Lewis L. Sovocool, in the Oneonta area. 

Miss G. Dorothy Williams and Mrs. Carroll Munson in Unadilla Forks and Burlington Flats area; Mrs. Roger Buttignol, Mrs. Doris Beers and Miss Julia Morey in the Milford area; Mrs. Mary Scott, Shirley Green, Peter Huntington, and Bruce Maynard in the Schenevus area; Mr. and Mrs. Charles Coulant, Mr. and Mrs. Glenn Harrison, Mr. and Mrs. Chalmers Hering, William Martin, in the Laurens-West Oneonta area. 

Robert Faber, Mr. and Mrs. Ben Morehouse, Dr. Jerome Payton, and Guy Rathbun in the Morris-Gilbertsville area; Murry Ames, Mrs. Kelley R. Chadwick, Clyde Robinson and Dr. Charles F. Schoenlein in the Richfield Springs area; Mrs. George Weiner, Cherry Valley; Mrs. Arthur Stocking, Roseboom; and Mrs. Mildred Marks of South Valley. 

Text Only
Step Back In Time

Additional Content
Join the Debate
Additional Resources
CNHI News Service

Do you plan to attend the Baseball Hall of Fame Induction?

Not sure
     View Results