The Oneonta Area League of Women Voters candidates' forum series will continue today with a panel featuring candidates for town offices.

Forums will take place in the Craven Lounge of Morris Hall at the State University College at Oneonta. Each forum will start at 7 p.m. and are expected to end by 9:30. No campaign material will be permitted at the forum, but the Oneonta LWV Voter's Guide will be available.

The forums will include a local media panel. Panelists will be Sam Pollak, editor of The Daily Star; Gary Wickham, program director for public radio station WUOW; and Brett Moore, news director of the Central New York Radio Group.

Forums are open to the public and will be broadcast live on television public access Channel 23, presented by the SUNY Oneonta creative media services crew. The live broadcast will also be streamed online at

Anyone watching the debate may call in with questions. The phone number will be provided during the broadcast, presenters said.

The forum series began Oct. 20 with candidates for city offices. Today's forum will feature incumbent town Supervisor Robert Wood, a Democrat, and his Republican challenger, Tony Natalini. The three candidates for the two vacant seats for Oneonta Town Board _ John Frisch, Scott Gravelin and Bill Mirabito _ will answer questions next.

The three candidates for Oneonta town justice _ Philip Hosley, Andrew Liddle and Bruce Smith _ will give statements of their qualifications and candidacy at the end of the program.

The third and final forum is scheduled for Tuesday, featuring candidates for positions at the county level.

ä District 12 challenger Craig Gelbsman, a Republican, will debate Democratic incumbent Cathy Rothenberger. District 12 represents the Third and Fourth wards of Oneonta.

ä District 13 incumbent Scott Harrington, a Republican, will debate Democratic challenger Linda Rowinski. District 13 represents the Fifth and Sixth wards.

ä District 4 incumbent Richard Murphy, a Democrat, will debate Republican challenger Janet Hurley-Quackenbush. District 4 represents the town of Oneonta.

At the end of the night, Otsego County treasurer candidates Dan Crowell, a Democrat, and Edward Keator Jr., a Republican, will give statements of their qualifications and candidacy.

Tonight's forum will be rebroadcast at 8:30 p.m. Friday and 1 p.m. Sunday. Tuesday's forum will be rebroadcast at 1 p.m. Saturday and 3 p.m. Sunday.

Trending Video