The Oneonta City School District Board of Education re-elected Grace Larkin as president and Susan Hughson as vice president during its reorganizational meeting Wednesday for the 2009-10 academic year.

Larkin and Hughson were each nominated by fellow board member Anne Payne, and their nominations were seconded by board member Andrew Puritz. The seven-member board unanimously approved both women to retain their leadership roles.

The board then set its standard policies and made appointments for the academic year.

Retired business teacher Marilyn Rosas, who taught for 311/2 years, addressed the board on the lessons she learned throughout her career, thanked the members for their service and encouraged them to meet individually with teachers to hear more about what students are learning.

Clerk of the Board Eileen Lishansky presented flowers to Rosas.

Board member Jamie Reynolds reported on a recent Finance Committee meeting, and cautioned the board that the overall financial picture will continue to have an impact on school finances.

"You take what you have," Reynolds said. "I'm pretty confident we can make it work."

Board member Rosalie Higgins encouraged her colleagues to look at ways spending can be curbed within the district.

Trending Video

Recommended for you