Associated PressFormer Oakland outfielder Rickey Henderson holds up third base after breaking Lou Brock-s all-time career record for stolen bases during the fourth inning of a game against the visiting New York Yankees on May 1, 1991. Henderson earned election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility Monday.


Results Monday of the 2009 Baseball Writers' Association of America election for the National Baseball Hall of Fame. To earn election, players need to appear on 75 percent of the ballots (405 of 539 this year).


e-Rickey Henderson51194.8

e,f-Jim Rice41276.4

Andre Dawson36167.0

Bert Blyleven33862.7

Lee Smith24044.5

Jack Morris23744.0

f-Tommy John17131.7

Tim Raines12222.6

Mark McGwire11821.9

Alan Trammell9417.4

Dave Parker8115.0

Don Mattingly6411.9

Dale Murphy6211.5

Harold Baines325.9

x-Mark Grace224.1

x-David Cone213.9

x-Matt Williams71.3

x-Mo Vaughn61.1

x-Jay Bell20.4

x-Jesse Orosco10.2

x-Ron Gant00.0

x-Dan Plesac00.0

x-Greg Vaughn00.0

e-Elected to National Baseball Hall of Fame.

f-Final year for National Baseball Hall of Fame as BBWAA candidate.

x-No longer eligible for election by BBWAA; received fewer than 27 votes (less than 5 percent).

Recommended for you