Oneonta State senior Brianne Ruzek scored eight goals and had two assists, but the Red Dragons' women's lacrosse team lost, 18-17, to visiting University of Rochester in three overtimes Thursday.

Ruzek scored the final two goals of regulation to force overtime and tied the score again with three seconds left in the first overtime.

Rochester (2-2) scored the winner 1:56 into the second sudden-victory period on a goal by Mary Kate Hannan, who shared team-high scoring honors with Abby Woodward. Both had five goals.

Rebecca Monteith contributed five goals and one assist for the Red Dragons (2-3), who'll host the University of Scranton at 2 p.m. Saturday.

Rochester 18, O-State 17

Rochester10 5 2 0 1 _ 18

O-State8 7 2 0 0 _ 17

University of Rochester (2-2): Abby Woodward 5-0, Mary Kate Hannan 5-0, Amanda Case 4-1, Lindsay Dakin 2-1, Lauren Latona 1-0, Chelsea Audin 1-0, Erica Gelb 0-2, Marlena Fisher 0-1.

Oneonta State (2-3): Rebecca Monteith 5-1, Lauren Portnoy 2-1, Rosemarie Fazio 2-2, Brianna Ruzek 8-2, Brittany Passarelli 0-1, Ciara Morse 0-1.

Goalies: Leslie Dube (R) 13; Annelisa Muscietta (O) 10.

Shots: 39-39; Groundballs: R, 33-31; Faceoffs: R, 21-19.

Skidmore 16, Hartwick 7

Tiffanie Bishop, Emily Walsh and Brittany LaVaute scored two goals apiece for Hartwick, which lost at Skidmore.

The Thoroughbreds scored nine of the game's first 10 goals and led, 11-3, at halftime. Grace Coppolo also scored for the Hawks (0-4), who'll play host to Oswego State at 4 p.m. Tuesday.

Skidmore 16, Hartwick 7

Hartwick3 4 _ 7

Skidmore11 5 _ 16

Hartwick (0-4): Brittany LaVaute 2-0, Tiffanie Bishop 2-0, Emily Walsh 2-0, Grace Coppolo 1-0, Stephanie Nutt 0-2, Glynn Couch 0-1, Hannah Kennedy 0-1.

Skidmore (2-1): Lindsay Stavola 5-2, Kimberly Segalas 4-1, Lauren Madden 4-0, Abbie Hamlin 2-0, Abbie Klaus 1-0, Lauren McCarthy 0-2, Laura Flynn 0-1.

Shots: Skidmore, 25-15; Groundballs: Skidmore, 30-20; Faceoffs: Skidmore, 15-8.


O-State pitcher honored

Oneonta State freshman Michael Center earned SUNY Athletic Conference Pitcher of the Week honors, the conference announced.

Center, a left-hander, earned three saves during the Red Dragons' spring trip to Cocoa Beach, Fla. Over 6 1/3 innings, Center struck out seven and allowed two hits.

Also, in helping O-State to an 11-1 record, Center went 10-for-29 (.345) with a double and five RBIs. He also walked eight times and stole two bases.

O-State travels to Susquehanna University at 3 p.m. Friday.

{"HeadlineLight14"/}Field Hockey

'Wick players honored

Hartwick was one of 102 squads nationwide to earn the 2008 National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division III National Academic Team Award. The award is presented to teams that have achieved a grade-point average of over 3.0.

Hartwick had a cumulative GPA of 3.27.

The NFHCA also recently released its 2008 Division III National Academic Squad, which included 10 Hartwick players. Seniors Amanda Johnson and Lindsay Kurtz made the team for the fourth time.

The NFHCA National Academic Squad recognizes student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2008-09 academic year.

The following is a complete list of the Hartwick players honored:

Johnson and Kurtz; juniors Megan Lindoerfer, Jenny Murphy and Amanda Valliere; sophomores Amanda Barton, Katie Cikatz, Samantha Galm and Jen Kaye; and freshman Hillary Cote.

Hartwick finished 7-11 this past season.


47 Hartwick athletes

on E-8 Presidents' List

The Empire 8 Conference announced 47 Hartwick College athletes were among 509 from the conference to make the fall Presidents' list.

Players must earn a 3.75 grade point average or higher as a full-time student and participate in athletics at one of the conference's institutions.

The following is a list of Hartwick athletes who made the E-8 Presidents' List:

Senior women's swimmer Kate Ahrendtsen; sophomore women's tennis player Alex Arnold; freshman men's basketball player Mark Blazek; senior equestrian rider Victoria Broderick; sophomore volleyball player Amelia Bruderlin; senior men's soccer player Dan Buehrens; senior women's basketball player Katie Caddell; senior men's soccer player Phil Cartwright; Junior spirit-dance member RosaLynn Casimano; sophomore field hockey player Katie Cikatz; freshman field hockey player Hillary Cote; junior men's soccer player Michael Cunningham; sophomore men's soccer player Tim Daigle; sophomore spirit-dance member Brittany Daigneault; freshman football player Dan Flynn; sophomore women's lacrosse player Bianca Gianfrate; senior men's soccer player Joe Gibson; freshman equestrian rider Sarah Goyer; sophomore women's lacrosse/field hockey player Jen Kaye; freshman women's soccer/lacrosse player Julie Kessler; junior cheerleader Jessica Layton; sophomore women's soccer player Stacy McLam; freshman football player Dan Meier; freshman football player Nick Meier; senior men's swimmer Kevin Milkovich; junior equestrian rider Erika Mohr; sophomore volleyball player Colleen Moran; sophomore women's cross-country runner Kim Negrich; sophomore men's cross-country runner Justin Pedersen; senior football player Jack Phelan; senior women's soccer player Brittany Pine; senior men's lacrosse player Cory Robbins; senior men's cross-country runner Sam Roods; sophomore men's cross-country runner Tim Sattler; sophomore men's swimmer Steven Sayles; sophomore women's tennis player Emily Scarano; freshman women's soccer player Elizabeth Scholl; senior volleyball player Kerry Sisson; sophomore men's lacrosse player Alex Skvarch; senior men's soccer player Jeff Spenard; junior men's lacrosse player Ryan Twardowski; junior field hockey player Amanda Valliere; senior men's swimmer Stephan Van Duzer; freshman women's lacrosse player Emily Walsh; junior football player James Walsh; sophomore spirit-dance member Shannon Walsh; and freshman women's tennis player Emily Watson.

Trending Video

Recommended for you