The SUNY Oneonta History Department faculty recognized 12 students for academic achievement and outstanding essay writing during a recent awards ceremony. Among them were local students September Schaffer of Roseboom who received Ethel Ray & Ada Crippen Award; William Leahy of Otego who was presented with the Redfield History Student Award; and Connor Davidson of Hartwick who won the Maynard Redfield History Essay Competition introductory essay category.


JoDee Daum and Robert Dudley, both of Oneonta; along with Jillian Matheson of Unadilla and September Schaffer of Roseboom, are among the 24 new members of SUNY Oneonta’s Alpha-Kappa-Iota chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society.

Undergraduate students must complete a minimum of 12 semester hours (four courses) in history, achieve a minimum grade-point average of 3.1 in history and a grade-point average of 3.0 or better overall to be inducted. Membership is not limited to history majors


Cedarville University computer engineering student Ian Bolin of Edmeston spent his spring break at Sonset Solutions, a technological missions organization in Elkhart, Indiana.

According to a media release, Bolin helped develop new software for Sonset’s radio, a small solar-powered radio receiver. Sonset has distributed the radio to several ministry partners who have requested that it be able to play an audio Bible. Bolin added the feature to the radio’s software.

Sonset Solutions provides technology-based solutions to advance the gospel worldwide. They believe that technology is an avenue to engage people in gospel conversations. Every year, Sonset Solutions equips more than 100 different ministries worldwide with tools, devices, information and support services to help make their work more effective.

Cedarville University has worked with Sonset Solutions since 1986, when the organization first began.

Students on Cedarville’s team served in different areas of the plant and assisted in a variety of projects.


Bekka Struble of Oneonta was one of 23 students from SUNY Oneonta’s School of Economics and Business inducted into the college’s Beta Gamma Sigma honor society chapter during a recognition ceremony on April 26. Struble, a junior, is studying business economics.


Logan J. Mancuso of Oneonta has been inducted into the St. Lawrence University chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the national honor society for liberal arts and sciences undergraduates. Mancuso, a member of the Class of 2019, is majoring in neuroscience. 


The following area students were recently inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa honor society at SUNY Morrisville. Mary Alexander, Colin Bridges, Devon Coffee, Britney Ernest, Crystal Ernest and Thomas Reilly, all of Norwich; Jacqueline Barnard of Bainbridge, Hailey Dolak of Oxford and Leta Pasternak of Morris. 


Jeffrey W. Yaun Jr. of Van Hornesville has been inducted into the St. Lawrence University chapter of Phi Sigma Tau, the international honorary society for philosophy. Yaun, a member of the Class of 2021, is majoring in economics.

Hartwick College students Joseph Nolan of Mount Upton and Logan Bramhall of Unadilla won prizes in the annual Stephen L. Green American Governance Essay Contest. Nolan received $1,000 and Bramhall, $250. Theo Malone of Oneonta and Giovanni Scarimbolo of East Meredith also participated.

Students were required to write an eight-to-10 page paper in response to the questions: “As a Republican, Democrat or Independent, how do you assess the major actions and policy initiatives taken during the first two years of the Trump administration? As a politically involved young citizen, what would you like to see happen on these issues and why?”


Anna Post of Bovina Center is the recipient of the first Livestock Foundation agricultural scholarship. Post, who will graduate in June from Delaware Academy, plans to pursue a degree in agricultural science from SUNY Cobleskill. 

The foundation also awarded funding to Town of Bovina Historian Ray LaFever in support of Bovina’s Bicentennial celebration planned for Aug. 8 and 9.

Dirty Girl Farm received community grant funds to use toward the installation of an ADA-compliant ramp for its facility in Andes.

Livestock Foundation’s mission is preserve the rural traditions and communities of Delaware County through programming that supports and encourages agricultural engagement and education. 


The following area students presented projects at SUNY Oneonta’s recent annual Student Research and Creative Activity Day event.

Michael Bagby of Oneonta presented a project titled “Bathymetric Mapping And Initial Sub-Bottom Profiling Of The Lower Reservoir of Oneonta Creek, NY, Using High-Frequency Side Scan Sonar.”

Zea Beckwith of West Burlington presented a project titled “Homeless Heroes.”

Hali Bedenharn of Oneonta presented a project titled “Say No, To Plastic Bags: SUNY Oneonta Campus Case Study.”

Stephanie Carpenter of Norwich presented a project titled “Testing and Refinement of the Beats Method of Finding Absolute Pitch.”

Taylor Dolan of Middleburgh presented a project titled “ENSO and Flooding on the Mohawk River from April to September 1950 to 2017.”

Hayley Dower of Oneonta presented a project titled “Population Dynamics of Spawning Walleye in Otsego Lake, NY.”

Bailey Gano of Davenport Center presented a project titled “Otsego County Electric Grid Proposal.”

Joshua Garufi of Oneonta presented a project titled “Attitudes Towards Police.”

Hannah Harby of Oneonta presented a project titled “Comparing Contemporary to Historical Fluctuating Asymmetry in Plastron Scutes of Wood Turtles.”

Savannah Irwin of Sherburne presented a project titled “Evaluating the Gender Stereotypicality of Unisex Names.”

Dylan Joyce of Oneonta presented a project titled “Tabletop Tales Video Series.”

Makayla Klinger of Walton presented a project titled “Implementing the International Labor Standards in the United States.”

Ryan Layman of Oneonta presented a project titled “Water Quality Analysis of Emmons Bog.”

William Leahy of Otego presented a project titled “Hong Kong’s Children: Child Labour and Mui Tsai in Hong Kong.”

Nathan Rutherford of Unadilla presented a project titled “Student Perspectives on Inquiry-based learning In Mathematics.”


Stephanie Carpenter of Norwich was one of 19 students inducted into SUNY Oneonta’s Edward K. Griesmer chapter of National Residence Hall Honorary, a branch of the National Association of Colleges and University Residence Halls, in April.


SUNY Oneonta students Madeline Grau of Oneonta and Michelle Platt of Otego were recently inducted into Tau Sigma National Honor Society, designed for transfer students.

According to a media release, its mission is to recognize and promote the academic excellence and involvement of transfer students. The minimum academic average required for membership is either a 3.5 on a 4.0 scale (or the equivalent thereof) or an academic average that places the prospective candidate in the top 20 percent of all incoming transfer students during their incoming semester.


The following area students were among more than 50 outstanding SUNY Oneonta students recognized at an Academic Achievement Awards reception on May 1. Emily Ahlqvist and Evamarie Weitzel, both of Oneonta; Cheryl Bates of Laurens; Heather Van Zile of Walton; Rebecca Morosko of Cooperstown; Nathan Rutherford of Unadilla; and Caree Acre of New Berlin.

According to a media release, in addition to their work in the classroom, students were honored for distinguishing themselves in other ways, including research, activism, mentoring, athletics, involvement in campus activities and volunteerism.

Recommended for you