Staff Report

Hartwick College honored junior women’s basketball guard Maria Foglia and senior men’s swimmer Kenny Kleso as its Athletes of the Year on Wednesday during the Hawks’ Athletics Awards Ceremony in Lambros Arena.

Foglia received the Anna Meyer Female Athlete of the Year Award. She won the Player of the Year award from the Empire 8 Conference after guiding the Hawks to the first Eastern College Athletic Conference women’s basketball title in program history.

A 1,000-point scorer for Hartwick, Foglia also earned the ECAC Metro Tournament’s Most Outstanding Player. as well as a spot on the All-East Region First Team and the Empire 8 All-Tournament Team.

Kleso won the Roy Chipman Memorial Award for Male Athlete of the Year, after earning honorable mention All-America accolades in two events at the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships.

Kleso had 15 individual wins and was part of 14 relay victories and seven Hartwick records this past season. He won conference and state titles in the 500-yard freestyle and the 800 free relay at the Empire 8/UNYSCSA Championships. He went on to place 12th at the NCAAs in the 500 free and helped the Hawks’ 800 free relay team to 14th place.

Other Hartwick award winners were as follows:

Margaret Lunn Memorial (senior female): Olivia Quinn, equestrian.

Harry Mosher Memorial (senior male): Cody Cupit, swimming.

Brunhilde Klinger Memorial (outstanding freshman female): Brittney Dumas, basketball.

Tim O’Brien Memorial (outstanding freshman male): Tanner Williams, football.

LeRoy House Jr. Memorial (student service): Kyle Greeley, men’s basketball assistant.

M. Beal Banks (excellence to best of ability): John Stuligross, men’s cross country; Haley Cox, water polo.

Frederick M. Binder Scholar Athlete: Cupit, swimming; Carly Pine, women’s soccer.

Phil Rigano Trophy (football leadership): Jim DeRosa.

NCAA Woman of the Year (Hartwick nominee): Kelsey Kimble, field hockey.

SAAB Recognition Award (commitment to athletics): Dale Rothenberger, swimming coach.

Tom Greene Memorial for Meritorious Service: Nick Lambros.

Special Coaches Award: Vincenzo Avanzato and Tony Avanzato, Stella Luna Ristorante.

Paul Spaziani Special Recognition: Jonathan Kent, director of admissions.

Erinn Brozman Memorial (women’s soccer): Emily Thorndike.

Carrie Fridmann Memorial (field hockey and/or women’s lacrosse): Cassie Jonaitis, field hockey; Lindsay Zweigenhaft, lacrosse.

Millecan (men’s soccer): Dr. James J. Elting (posthumously).

Men’s Soccer (senior): Russell Oost-Lievense.

Barry Lewis (men’s basketball senior): Aaron Laing (Laurens).

Team MVPs: Jared Suderley, basketball; Maria Foglia, basketball; Jocelyn Tomisman, cheerleading; John Stuligross, cross country; Monica Prager, cross country; Olivia Quinn, equestrian; Kelsey Kimble, field hockey; Bryan Schweitzer, football; Harry Hughes, lacrosse; Caroline Stanford, lacrosse; Chris Walter, soccer; Hope Brown, soccer; Kenny Kleso, swimming; Jade Woodend, swimming; Peter Dumas, tennis; Nicole Schepisi, tennis; Brianna Eckert, volleyball; Lily Martinez, water polo.

Trending Video

Recommended for you