Ryan Marszal of Unatego fell in the 170-pound final and Austin Dean of Sidney narrowly lost his semifinal match at 285 Saturday in the Division II state wrestling tournament at the Times Union Center in Albany.

Marszal, a junior who placed in the fifth in the state last season at 182 pounds, advanced to the final with a 5-3 victory over Geno Brancati of Hudson Falls.

In the final, Marszal wrestled Warsaw’s Burke Paddock, who won the 160-pound state title in 2013. Paddock earned a 9-1 win over Marszal in the final.

Marszal finished his season with a 37-1 record.

Dean, also a junior, nearly made it to the state final in his first appearance at the state meet. Wrestling at 285 pounds, Dean lost to eventual state champion Connor Calkins of Alfred-Almond, 14-13, in the semifinals. In a weight class that normally doesn’t lend itself to high-scoring matches, Calkins earned the victory and then defeated Nick Scott of Cohoes, 10-5, in the final.

In wrestlebacks, Dean lost, 2-1, in double-overtime to Port Jefferson’s Kyle Fiske and then lost by disqualification to Schalmont’s Marcus Ramondo in the fifth-place match.

Marszal and Dean were the lone area competitors to place.

Bainbridge-Guilford/Afton/Harpursville senior Jamie Griswold won a pair of wrestleback matches Friday at 152 pounds, but was eliminated by Peru’s Jay Oakes with a 10-2 loss Saturday.

Walton junior Logan Robinson’s chances at placing at 120 pounds ended with a 10-0 loss to Bradley Bihler on Saturday. Robinson won two matches in wrestlebacks, including a 4-2 win over Odessa-Montour’s Joe Rorick, who beat Robinson, 3-0, in the Section Four final two weeks ago.

BGAH sophomore Chris Cirigliano lost in the quarterfinals Friday and won one match in wrestlebacks before being eliminated with a 7-4 loss to Kyle Aslanian on Saturday.

State Wrestling Tournament

Saturday at Times Union Center, Albany

Division II Championships

99 – Dane Heberlein (Alexander) dec. Jonathan Gomez (Locust Valley), 7-0.

106 – Matteo DeVincenzo (Port Jefferson-XI) dec. Luke Yankloski (Wayne-V), 9-4.

113 – Hunter Dusold (Locust Valley) dec. Derek Spann (Adirondack), 3-1.

120 – Bryan Lantry (Wayne) dec. Luis Weierbach (Hoosick Falls), 5-4.

126 – Kellen Devlin (Amherst-VI) dec. Ryan Snow (General Brown), 4-2.

132 – William Koll (Lansing) def. Sean Peacock (Midlakes-V), 6-3.

138 – Tristan Rifanburg (Norwich) dec. Laken Cook (Central Valley Acad), 7-1.

145 – Alex Herringshaw (Holland Patent) pinned Andrew Shomers (Lewiston Porter), 4:56.

152 – Frank Garcia (Norwich) dec. Tyler Silverthorn (General Brown), 4-0

160 – Trevor Allard (Mexico) dec. Connor Lawrence (Duanesburg), 3-1 OT.

170 – Burke Paddock (Warsaw) dec. Ryan Marszal (Unatego), 9-1.

182 – Christian Dietrich (Greene) dec. Daniel Smith (South Jefferson), 3-0.

195 – Nathanael Rose (Eagle Academy) dec. Lane Frost (Vernon-Verona-Sherrill), 9-4.

220 – Ryan Wolcott (Waverly) def. Jake Benedict (Sandy Creek), 3-1.

285 – Connor Calkins (Alfred-Almond) dec. Nick Scott (Cohoes), 10-5.

Division II third-place matches

99 – Dean Raymond (Deposit/Hancock) dec. Joe Sliwoski (Wayne), 14-5.

106 – Theo Powers (Mexico) dec. Tanner Cook (Central Valley Acad), 6-4.

113 – Anthony Recco (Lyndonville) dec. Tito Colom (Dunkirk), 6-0.

120 – Abdul-Fatah Alshawai (Lackawanna) dec. Bradley Bihler (Maple Grove), 6-1.

126 – Hunter Richard (Holland Patent) dec. Rafael Mateo (Midlakes), 4-2.

132 – Carter Merecki (Salem) dec. Cody McGregor (Tonawanda), 2-0.

138 – Sam Ward (Locust Valley) dec. Dakota Gardner (Fredonia), 4-3.

145 – Nate Martin (Newfane) dec. Jason Hoffman (Hadley Luz/L. George), 4-3.

152 – Ryan Kromer (Lewiston Porter) dec. Cam Milliken (Albany Academy), 2-1.

160 – Alex Smythe (Eden) dec. Nik Hansen (Oxford), 5-0.

170 – Triston Engle (Dolgeville) dec. Jacob Woolson (Mexico), 6-4.

182 – Trey Duvall (Addison) dec. Nick Gallo (Schalmont), 4-3.

195 – Ward Hively (Addison) dec. Trevor Spicer (Frewsburg), 7-3.

220 – Garrett Duvall (Sherburne Earlville) pinned Rafal Rokosz (Southampton), 3:53.

285 – Tyler Havener (Oneida) pinned Kyle Fiske (Port Jefferson), 1:38.

Division II fifth-place matches

99 – Zachery Lawrence (Duanesburg) injury default Jacob Nolan (Saranac).

106 – Hector Colom (Dunkirk) dec. Kyle Aslanian (Edgemont), 5-2 OT.

113 – Ryan O’Rourke (Adirondack) dec. Ryan Hetrick (Southwestern), 3-2.

120 – Nick Cassella (Locust Valley) dec. Matt Morris (Albany Academy), 2-0.

126 – Tristin DeVincenzo (Port Jefferson) dec. Dan Vandyk (Salem), 5-2.

132 – Austin Acquard (Pioneer) dec. Cormac Green (Port Byron), 4-3 2OT.

138 – Codi Gillette (Saranac) pinned Colin Royce (Warsaw-V), 4:07.

145 – Jay Oakes (Peru) dec. Corey Farrell (Warsaw), 4-0.

152 – Simon Breckinridge (Vernon-Verona-Sherrill) dec. Dan Woughter (Alfred-Almond), 7-4.

160 – Jordan Bushey (Peru) tech. fall Howie Nolan (Maple Grove), 15-0.

170 – Kyle Ross (Falconer) dec. Geno Brancati (Hudson Falls) 4-2.

182 – William Hilliard (Phoenix) forfeit Chris Pinckney (Port Byron).

195 – Logan Laflamme (South Jefferson) pinned Jeryd Graham (Midlakes), 1:16.

220 – Miguel Perez (Eagle Academy) forfeit Logan Kunkle (Ravena Coey Selkirk).

285 – Marcus Ramundo (Schalmont) disqualification Austin Dean (Sidney).

Trending Video

Recommended for you