Hunter-Tannersville’s girls team and Roxbury’s boys team each claimed Delaware League and Section IV alpine skiing team championships Wednesday, Feb. 12, at Belleayre Mountain.

Margaretville’s Ryan McVitty and Hunter-Tannersville’s Sundee Kroyer claimed both individual titles, and will lead the six-member teams that represent Section IV in state competition.

McVitty’s victory in the giant slalom portion of Wednesday’s doubleheader capped a season that saw him compile the highest average finish at competitive events. He put together runs of 39.19 and 38.56 to total a time of 1:17.75, good for first place by more than three seconds.

Roxbury’s Andrew Chojnowski (second, 1:21.44) and Matt Vajtay (third, 1:21.91) filled the other two podium positions in the event.

In the slalom portion, Chojnowski moved up to first place with runs of 38.03 and 38.91, clocking a total time of 1:16.94 to win by just less than three seconds. Vajtay took second (1:19.52) and Hunter-Tannersville’s Konrad Gilbert took third (1:20.07).

The girls side produced a similar pattern as Kroyer capped a season of individual titles with a win in the giant slalom before missing the podium in the slalom. Her times of 41.10 and 40.75 combined to win the GS in 1:21.85.

Sydney Asher of Margaretville was second (1:22.09) and Isabella Hoff of Ithaca was third (1:26.56).

Hoff took first place in the slalom, combining runs of 38.78 and 39.99 to win in 1:18.77. Asher was second with a time of 1:20.57 and Windham’s Abigal Garrison took third in 1:25.24.

The state team includes the top six individual finishers, with the bottom qualifiers being displaced by the top three of the winning team should they not all place in the top six. Kroyer, Asher, Hoff and Garrison will lead the Section IV girls team. They will be joined by Adriana Tsiselsky and Ana Haines of H-T, with Windham’s Victoria Shuster as the alternate.

McVitty, Chojnowski, Vajtay and Gilbert will join Alexander Rachlinski of Ithaca and Dennis Slauson of Roxbury. Jeffrey Lehn of Margaretville is the alternate.

State competition is slated for Feb. 24 and Feb. 25 at Bristol Mountain’s Harriet Hollister Spencer State Recreation Area.

Belleayre Mountain

Giant Slalom

Boys individual results: 1, Ryan McVitty (M) 1:17.75 (39.19, 38.56); 2, Andrew Chojnowski (R) 1:21.44; 3, Matt Vajtay (R) 1:21.91.

Girls individual results: 1, Sundee Kroyer (HT) 1:21.85 (41.10, 40.75); 2, Sydney Asher (M) 1:22.09; 3, Isabella Hoff (I) 1:26.56.


Boys individual results: 1, Andrew Chojnowski (R) 1:16.94 (38.03, 38.91); 2, Matt Vajtay (R) 1:19.52; 3, Konrad Gilbert (HT) 1:20.07.

Girls individual results: 1, Isabella Hoff (I) 1:18.77 (38.78, 39.99); 2, Sydney Asher (M) 1:20.57; 3, Abigail Garrison (W) 1:25.24.

Recommended for you